Clark Library Temporary Closure


The William Andrews Clark Library, internationally renowned for its 17th -18th century special collections, will close temporarily beginning April 1, 2015 for building upgrades.
Constructed in 1924-26 and donated to UCLA in 1934 by mining scion William Andrews Clark Jr., the historic Library will undergo a seismic retrofit as well as construction of a new entrance pavilion and improved book storage in the basement.

According to Meg Sullivan, Senior Media Relations Representative for UCLA Humanities and Social Sciences, the stacks, that is, the place where scholars consult books and manuscripts, will close April 1st.  All lectures, symposia and conferences will move to the UCLA main campus.  The final public event upstairs at the library will be an April 26th chamber music concert in the library's historic drawing room.  Chamber concerts scheduled for the 2015-2016 season will be held at the Westwood site.

The refurbished library expects to reopen to the public in about one year with progress updates appearing on the Library's website at  

Located at Adams Blvd. and Cimarron St., the Library is considered one of West Adams most unique historic treasures.

Previous TNN stories found on our website

- A Brief History Of the Clark Library

- Cultured Cats

- Chalk Repertory Theatre Brings Lady Windermere to the Clark

- The Clark Library Book Club

News Category


Currently are 30 guests and no members online

Kubik-Rubik Joomla! Extensions

About Us

Established in August of 2008 by writerartist Dianne V. Lawrence, The Neighborhood News covers the events, people, history, politics and historic architecture of communities throughout the Mid-City and West Adams area in Los Angeles Council District 10.

Contact Us

Dianne V. Lawrence
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.